IORA AT A GLANCE



INTRODUCTION

The Indian Ocean Rim Association is an inter-governmental organisation which was established on 7th March 1997. IORA enhances economic dialogue and regional cooperation to promote sustainable growth and balanced development for prosperous Indian Ocean Rim. The vision for IORA originated during a visit by late President Nelson Mandela of South Africa to India in 1995, where he said:

"The natural urge of the facts of history and geography...should broaden itself to include the concept of an Indian Ocean Rim for socio-economic co-operation and other peaceful endeavours. Recent changes in the international system demand that the countries of the Indian Ocean shall become a single platform."



23 MEMBER STATES

Australia, Bangladesh, Comoros, France/Reunion, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mozambique, Oman, Seychelles, Singapore, Somalia , South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, United Arab Emirates and Yemen



China, Egypt, European Union, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Türkiye, United Kingdom and United States of America.

PRIORITY AREAS

- Maritime Safety and Security
- Trade and Investment Facilitation
- Fisheries Management
- Disaster Risk Management
- Academic, Science and Technology Cooperation

	CHAIRS		
	The Council of Ministers elects the Chair of the Association for a period of two years. This is based on the voluntary offer by Member States to become the Chair or; if there is no voluntary offer, the Chair will be elected based on geographical consideration.		
		Year	
	Republic of Mauritius	1997-1998	
	Republic of Mozambique	1999-2000	
	Sultanate of Oman	2001	
es.	Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka	2003-2004	
	Islamic Republic of Iran	2006-2008	
	Republic of Yemen	2009-2010	
	Republic of India	2011-2012	
	Commonwealth of Australia	2013-2014	
	Republic of Indonesia	2015-2016	
	Republic of South Africa	2017-2018	
	United Arab Emirates	2019-2020	
	People's Republic of Bangladesh	2021-2023	
	Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka Pr	esent Chair	

Tourism and Cultural Exchanges

*With the Blue Economy and Women's Economic Empowerment as Cross-cutting Issues

STRUCTURE

IORA's apex body is the Council of Foreign Ministers (COM) which meets annually. A Committee of Senior Officials (CSO) meets bi-annually to review and prioritise IORA's activities. The Association has Functional Bodies which strengthen and promote activities in the Association and are governed by their Terms of Reference (TOR) as recommended by the CSO and approved by the COM.

SPECIALIZED AGENCIES

Fisheries Support Unit (FSU) - Headquartered in the Sultanate of Oman since 2003, FSU plays an important role in enhancing the cooperation, better utilisation of fisheries resources, exchanges of expertise and joint research activities.

Regional Centre for Science and Technology Transfer (RCSTT)-Established in 2008 in the Islamic Republic of Iran, RCSTT aims to facilitate the transfer of sustainable and appropriate technology to and between Member States.

IORA SECRETARIAT

3rd floor, NeXTeracom Building

Cybercity, Ebene, Republic of Mauritius Office: +230 454 1717 Fax: +230 468 1161 Email: hq@iora.int www.iora.int



The IORA Special Fund was established by the Council of Ministers in its meeting held in Colombo, Sri Lanka, August 2004. The Special Fund is a financial mechanism for supporting and complementing the funding of projects and programmes adopted by the Association, in line with the principles and objectives enshrined in the Charter as well as the objectives and goals envisaged by the relevant bodies of the Organisation.



The IORA Secretariat manages, coordinates, services, and monitors the implementation of policy decisions and work programmes adopted by the Association. It is based in Mauritius and overseen by the Secretary-General who is appointed for a three-year period.





AUSTRALIA Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Canberra Language: English Currency: Australian Dollar



MOZAMBIQUE Joined IORA in 1997 Capital : Maputo Language: Portuguese **Currency: Mozambique Metical**



BANGLADESH Joined IORA in 1999 Capital: Dhaka Language: Bengali Currency: Taka



OMAN Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Muscat Language: Arabic Currency: Omani Rial



COMOROS Joined IORA in 2012 Capital: Moroni Languages: Comorian, Arabic, French **Currency: Comorian Franc**



SEYCHELLES Joined IORA in 2011 Capital: Victoria Languages: English. French, Seselwa Currency: Seychellois Rupee



CHINA Joined IORA in 2000 Capital: Beijing Language: Standard Mandarin Currency: Renminbi



EGYPT Joined IORA in 1999 Capital: Cairo Languages: Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic Currency: Egyptian Pound



SINGAPORE

J 5

S

FRANCE/ REUNION

Joined IORA in 2020 Capital: Paris/ St Denis Language: French Currency: Euro

INDIA

Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: New Delhi Languages: Hindi, English Currency: Indian Rupee

(*** **

Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Singapore Languages: English, Mandarin, Malay, Tamil Currency: Singapore dollar

SOMALIA

Joined IORA in 2014 Capital: Mogadishu Languages: Somali, Arabic Currency: Somali Shilling

INDONESIA

Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Jakarta Languages: Indonesian, Bahasa, Indonesia **Currency: Indonesian Rupiah**

IRAN

SOUTH AFRICA Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Pretoria Languages: English, Afrikaans, isiZulu, isiXhosa, Sesotho sa Leboa, Setswana, isiNdebele, siSwati, Tshivenda,

Currency: South African Rand

GERMANY

Joined IORA in 2015 Capital: Berlin Languages: German Currency: Euro



ITALY Joined IORA in 2019 Capital: Rome Language: Italian Currency: Euro



JAPAN Joined IORA in 1999 Capital: Tokyo Languages: Japanese Currency: Japanese Yen



Joined IORA in 1999 Capital: Tehran Language: Persian **Currency: Iranian Rial**





KENYA Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Nairobi Languages: Swahili, English Currency: Kenyan Shilling



SRI LANKA Joined IORA in 1997 Capitals: Colombo, Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte Languages: English, Tamil, Sinhala

Xitsonga, Sesotho

Currency: Sri Lankan Rupee



MADAGASCAR Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Antananarivo Languages: Malagasy, French **Currency: Malagasy Ariary**



TANZANIA Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Dodoma Languages: English, Swahili Currency: Tanzanian Shilling

MALAYSIA Joined IORA in 1997

THAILAND Joined IORA in 1999



KOREA Joined IORA in 2018 Capital: Seoul Language: Korean Currency: South Korean Won

RUSSIA

Joined IORA in 2021 Capital: Moscow Language: Russian Currency: Russian Ruble



SAUDI ARABIA Joined IORA in 2023 Capital: Riyadh Language: Arabic Currency: Saudi Riyal

Capital: Kuala Lumpur Languages: Bahasa Malaysia Currency: Malaysian Ringgit

Capital: Bangkok Language: Thai Currency: Thai Baht



MALDIVES Joined IORA in 2018 Capital : Male

Language: Dhivehi Currency: Maldivian Rufiyaa

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

Joined IORA in 1999 Capital: Abu Dhabi Language: Arabic Currency: UAE Dirham

MAURITIUS

Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Port-Louis Languages: English, French, Mauritian Creole Currency: Mauritian Rupee

YEMEN Joined IORA in 1997 Capital: Sana'a Language: Arabic Currency: Yemeni Rial



TURKIYE Joined IORA in 2018 Capital: Ankara Language: Turkish Currency: Turkish Lira



UNITED KINGDOM Joined IORA in 2000 Capital: London Language: English Currency: U.K Pound



UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Joined IORA in 2012 Capital: Washington DC Language: English Currency: US Dollar



